Skip to main content
Logo
There is a newer version of Contensis. Click to find out more and download the latest version.

Check in and out

Working in a team often means that more than one user will want to edit the same content, at the same time. To avoid overwriting, Contensis uses a check in/check out system (just like books at a library). If an item is checked in, it is available for other users to check out and edit.

To avoid confusion, Contensis automatically checks out content to you when you begin editing it. When you log out, you will be prompted to check in any work that you have left checked out.

When you've checked out a page, it will stay checked out until you submit it for approval, log out or follow one of the steps below:

  • From the Project Explorer, select the webpage you have checked out, and click Check in.

    Screenshot of context menu in project explorer.

  • If you already have the page open in Edit mode, you can choose the Workflow button above the tabs, and then select Check in.

    Screenshot of workflow menu in editor.

Once a page has been checked out, Contensis will display a pencil icon for it in the project explorer. An item with a red icon means it is checked out to another user.

Contensis will display a pencil icon for a checked out page and red icon for a page checked out to another user.

If you want to edit a piece of content that's currently checked out by someone else, you can ask the system to notify you when it's available. You can also ask a system administrator to check in the piece for you.

Note: If you have the right permissions, you can force check in a piece of work, letting you edit it. This will overwrite anything the other user was doing.