Skip to main content
Logo
There is a newer version of Contensis. Click to find out more and download the latest version.

Workflow overview

Contensis lets multiple people work on content, and workflow describes the processes and actions involved in managing shared content.

Check in and out

Checking a page out when you begin editing, and back in when finished stops people from overwriting one another's work.

Submit, approve and decline

Submitting a piece of content sends it to the next step in the workflow (usually to be approved). Approvers can then approve content – publishing it to the front-end website – or decline it – sending it back to be edited.

Pass to another user

When working on content, you can pass the page on to another Contensis user to use specific knowledge or skills needed to complete it.

Revoke

If you need to re-open a submitted page for editing, revoking lets you check it back out to work on it again.

Customised workflow

The standard Contensis workflow setup has 2 steps (submit and approve), but you can customise your set up to include multiple tiers.

Preview

Preview lets you easily see what your webpage will look like over a range of common devices.

Workflow notifications

Administrators can be informed at each step of the workflow. Notifications are customisable.

Workflow permissions

All users within Contensis will have permissions set against them to view part or all of the system files – such as pages, images or documents.

Content status indicators

Contensis uses traffic light colours to give you a single indicator to quickly see the status of the content in your projects.