Archiving in Contensis is a handy way to take a content offline but retain it for later use.
Only users with the view permission will see archived content in the Project Explorer. System Administrators can access a full list of archived content and Unarchive in the Management Console.
- Click on the content you want to archive in the Project Explorer and press Archive. A warning modal will appear.
- Address any issues with managed or external links from the content you want to archive (if necessary). Click Archive. The Project Explorer will refresh and the archived content will be indicated by an orange triangle with an exclamation mark.
- Right click on a piece of archived content, a list will appear.
- Select Unarchive. This will restore the page in the folder but it will need to be republished to move to the live state.
Show/hide archived content
- Click on your Root folder and press Show or Hide Archived Content inthe list that displays.
- The Project Explorer will refresh and archived content will be displayed in its original folder, or hidden.
Note: Content will be archived indefinitely unless the DataRetention_MaximumMonthsToRetain project setting has been changed from the default (0 months). Changing this setting will affect ALL content that is not in a live or edit state,including content in the recycle bin.
Was this article helpful?