Skip to main content
Logo

Content versions

This article explains the versioning of content within Contensis, and how to rollback to previous versions. Contensis supports multiple version control. Every time a page is published, it becomes a version. This version is then always available in the future.

To revert to a previous version:

  1. Open the document in the Editor (click on the item, and choose Edit).
  2. Select the Version History tab. Select the version of the page you wish to revert to by clicking the radio button (see Version History above). Click the Revert button.

The version you have selected will now open in the editor under the next sequential version number.

You can never edit a previous version. However, you can revert to a previous version by clicking the revert button in this view. After you have selected the version you wish to revert to, this will create a new version (with the next sequential version number then being displayed when the screen refreshes). This version will be a copy of the selected previous version, but this new version will now be editable.


Audit trail

Users of Contensis can see a list of every major action that takes place within a page or content type. For example, you can see the number of times an action took place, the date and who carried out the action. The types of actions we record include (among other things):

  • page creation
  • workflow check out
  • check in
  • submission for approval
  • revoking from approval queue
  • approved items

Users can view this directly from the Project Explorer. Just click on a page, or content type, and select Audit from the available list. You can also see the trail when viewing Version History  in edit mode by clicking the Audit button.

Preview a web page

There are various ways that you can preview a webpage (Live or in Test mode). 

Under Version History you can preview a version, by clicking the Preview button when a version has been selected down the left side of this view.

When editing a webpage, it can be immediately previewed in test by clicking the Preview button above the tabs. Or, click the dropdown arrow for Preview Live, or Dual View.

A third option is to click on a webpage in the project explorer and select the Preview option. This opens up the range of previews available, either in the Editor interface to the right, or as a pop up for both the current Live version, and the Saved Edit Version via the Test Server.

Dual view web pages

You might need to compare one version of a page with another. 

Click the Preview dropdown arrow, and select Dual View. Once these open, you can select from the dropdown list for either version to select which other versions you wish to compare.

Using the Dual View button at the top of the Version History screen allows you to view any version of the page selected (including the current editing version) alongside any other. By selecting from the box (dropdown list) at the foot of each dual view screen, you can change the version(s) being viewed.