Skip to main content
Logo

Manage entry locations from the entry editor

An entry can be made available at multiple URLs. This can be helpful when similar content needs to be displayed in multiple locations in your website.

The first location an entry is assigned to is considered the canonical URL. If you're unfamiliar with what a canonical URL is, take a look at the Google Webmaster Search console article for more information.

Set the first location

The first location of an entry can be set in the ways outlined in the following articles:

Add additional locations

When you want the entry to be available at multiple URLs you'll need to add an additional location to the entry. This can be done by attaching the entry to an additional node in site view, or as this article outlines, through the Manage locations screen.

This action is only available to authors that are members of the Site View Administrators group.

With an entry open for editing: 

  1. Press the Actions button indicated by the triple dot icon. A dropdown menu will be displayed.
  2. Select Manage locations from the menu.
  3. The Entry location inline editor will be displayed. Any existing locations that have been added to the entry will be displayed, as well as the option to add another location.
  4. Press Add location and the Choose location window will be displayed.
  5. Select a location from the screen and press Apply.
  6. Press Publish changes to add the entry to the new location.

For a detailed overview of the location options please refer to the Setting a location article.

Remove a location

With the Manage locations inline editor displayed:

  1. Press the Actions button indicated by the triple dot icon on the location that you would like to remove.
  2. Select the Remove option from the menu.
  3. The location will be removed from the list.
  4. Press Publish changes for the location to be removed from the entry.

Change the canonical URL

When you need to change the primary URL for a piece of content you can use the Set canonical option within the Manage locations screen.

With the Manage locations inline editor displayed:

  1. Press the Actions button indicated by the triple dot icon on the location that you would like to set as the canonical.
  2. Select the Set canonical option from the menu.
  3. The location will be updated as the canonical and is indicated by the Canonical label.
  4. Press Publish changes for the canonical changes to take effect.