Skip to main content
Logo

Move nodes to a new location

Moving nodes in site view allows you to reorganise your URL structure and content. You can move individual nodes or nodes containing children making it easy to move an entire section of your site to a new location.

Moving nodes in Site view is restricted to users in the Site View Administrators security group.

Move a child node

To move a child node and any entry attached to the node, locate the node you would like to move in the Site view tree.

  1. Select the Actions option, indicated by the triple dot icon, on the node in the navigation tree.
  2. Press Move from the context menu that's displayed. The Move selected node? window will appear.
  3. Select a node/location from your site structure using the tree explorer in the left-hand pane.

  4. Press Move node and the Choose location window will close.

  5. You'll be notified that the move has been completed and navigated to the location you selected from the location panel.

Move a parent node and its contents

You can also move an entire section of your site from the Site view tree.

  1. Select the Actions option, indicated by the triple dot icon, on the parent in the navigation tree.
  2. Press Move from the context menu that's displayed. The Move selected node and children? window will appear.
  3. Select a node/location from your site structure using the tree explorer in the left-hand pane.

  4. Press Move nodes and the Choose location window will close.

  5. You'll be notified that the move has been completed and navigated to the location you selected from the location panel.

Note: If you move a child/parent node to a location that already has a node with the same slug name, then the slug name will be incremented with a -1 to prevent any URL clashes.